Cheap VPS & Xen Server

Residential Proxy Network - Hourly & Monthly Packages

Bypolls: TDP wins Nandyal, AAP retains Bawana seat; Parrikar grabs Panaji

Bypolls: TDP wins Nandyal, AAP retains Bawana seat; Parrikar grabs Panaji
TDP candidate Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy, AAP candidate Ram Chander and Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar. (Photos: Facebook)

Hyderabad/New Delhi/Goa: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) candidate Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy won the Nandyal Assembly seat in Andhra Pradesh, defeating his YSR Congress rival by 27,466 votes.

After TDP’s win, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu said, “People have again shown confidence and trust in development and good governance.”

In Goa, BJP won the by-election to two assembly seats, with Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar emerging victorious from Panaji and health minister Vishwajit Rane from Valpoi.

Parrikar defeated his nearest rival, Congress’s Girish Chodankar by 4,803 votes.

As per the final results announced on Monday morning, Parrikar polled 9,862 votes against 5,059 by Chodankar.

BJP candidate and health minister Vishwajit Rane retained his Valpoi seat by defeating his nearest rival Roy Naik of the Congress by 10,066 votes. Rane had resigned as MLA after leaving the Congress.

In Delhi, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) comfortably retained the Bawana Assembly constituency.

The AAP candidate, Ram Chander, bagged 59,886 votes while the BJP, which had fielded AAP turncoat Ved Parkash as its candidate, finished a distant second with 35,834 votes.

Congress’s Surender Kumar trailed closely behind with 31,919 votes.

The bypoll was held on August 23.