Google announced they are now blocking searchers from accessing web sites that contain deceptive download buttons. They will show a big red warning after the user clicks on the search result that warns “deceptive site ahead.”
Here is a screen shot of the warning that the searcher may see before trying to access such a site:
Google said, “We’re expanding Safe Browsing protection to protect you from such deceptive embedded content, like social engineering ads.”
These deceptive ads are defined by Google as those that:
- pretend to act, or look and feel, like a trusted entity — like your own device or browser, or the website itself
- try to trick you into doing something you’d only do for a trusted entity — like sharing a password or calling tech support
Here are some examples of these deceptive ads:
Postscript: This turns out to be something we covered in February, Google reposted the news on the Webmaster blog today.